Amazing Moss Park painted by John G. Howard, 1827 depicting two hikers on Queen St pointing to the William Allan mansion. Later occupied by his son, George William Allan 1853 who was a politician but also President of the Ontario Society of Artists and the Conservatory of Music.
We are residents, neighbours, business owners, and friends of the neighbourhood who believe that the heritage of Moss Park should have a bearing on how we respect and use the park & neighbourhood today--a place of enjoyment and beauty for people of all ages and backgrounds.
Photograph -William Allan Mansion, which has been demolished and is the present site of federal Armory.
FREE WALKING TOURS
Moss Park: Past and Present
June 16, 2019
Explore the Moss Park neighbourhood along historic Queen East. Discover remnants of the past and uncover the hidden legacy of this downtown community. From an industrious beginning to an era of urban decline, Moss Park remains a collection of forgotten tales stretching back to the very origins of the city itself.
Join local historian Andre Bermon on June 16th at the King-Parliament Study Pop-up location at 73 Jarvis Street (just south of Adelaide). The tour will be approximately an hour in length. 10:30 to 11:30 am
To register for the tour and other great events please checkout www.toronto.ca/king-parliament
(Click the green register button and scroll down to the last event to find the Moss Park Walking Tour)
ONE GALS TORONTO APRIL 18, 2018